Orthomeria Bonanza

Quite a while ago now, all of my Orthomeria kangi matured. Here is a picture of an adult pair:

img_5599

This species is certainly very pretty, with the red of the wing covers contrasting beautifully with the jet-black body of the insect. Members of my family have nicknamed this species ‘ant stick insects’, due to the resemblance of this species to ants.

Unfortunately, only three adult males remain alive at this point in time. I have found this species to be pretty short-lived once adult, which is a shame. Thankfully, I have collected many ova and I am spending every waking hour watching these eggs to see if they hatch awaiting the hatching of these ova.

To summarize, this is a very pretty, albeit small, species that is very quick and rather short-lived. This species also has a rather strong defensive spray that is discharged rather eagerly.

However, this would be a pretty bad ‘bonanza’ if I only had one Orthomeria species. So, here is a picture of my first Orthomeria sp “Kubah” nymph, which hatched today:

img_6020

I ordered this species around September time from Bruno Kneubuhler (if you are after unique/ unusual/ rare species, I would definitely look at what he has on offer) along with two other species (which shall be revealed once they hatch), so it hatched fairly quickly. From what I have seen, this species appears to be even faster than my O.kangi, which I wouldnt have thought of before as possible!

Whilst this species looks almost identical to my O.kangi in the first instar, they are pretty different in appearance and from what I have read, size, with the O. “Kubah” being the larger species. Here is a picture of an adult pair from Bruno’s caresheet:

1

This is a beautiful species and I am really looking forward to raising it; more posts will be posted on this specie as more hatch and the nymphs grow.

Whilst these nymphs develop and eggs hatch, be sure to keep an eye out for next week’s post(s) which will be on the new generation of Brasidas foveolatus foveolatus and quite possibly, a new species for me that is Parectatosoma cf. hystrix “Moramanga”; hope you all ‘stick around’ to read it:).

 

 

Leave a Reply

